Grand Re-Opening – Tomorrow!

Things are coming together, at long last. We still have a ways to go, but tomorrow is the big day. It’s go big or go home, and we’re going big (although at the very least, our home is just behind the shop…).

It’s been a long and winding road, and among other savoury treats, Jon has been heard to say:

“Liz, balloons are not a priority right now.”
“This shop vac is a piece of [special word].”
“Liz, LIFT. Liz, are you even lifting? It has to be off the ground.” – followed by – “I need a man.” – followed by – “I mean, in addition to myself.”
“I think I have a hernia.”
“I think I’m having a heart attack.”
“It’s too painful to sneeze.”
“Do not show anyone this picture of me lifting this.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve done one side of the chalkboard sign, but can’t seem to find the box of chalk to finish the other side. I broke a light-bulb and I’ve made Jon move a rack that’s screwed to the wall twice.  There’s dust everywhere, and the shop vacuum is …inefficient.

But tomorrow, we will be ready. And I hope you’ll come to see us, say hello and check out the new shop!

We will be open from 11am to 6pm at our new location, 250 Carlaw, Unit 105. If you’re taking the Queen Streetcar, get off at Carlaw Avenue and walk north, it will just be a minute or two. Look for the yellow balloons!

We may not have everything at 100%, but we are going to have pens and inks and notebooks on display and prizes and treats and a gurgling baby and enough excitement to last us until Christmas.

And thank you all so much for sticking with us while we’ve gotten ourselves dusty and moved across the city. I know we’ve had dates come and go and a lot of changes, but we couldn’t be more appreciative of your support and patience. We’ve had delays in shipping out orders and we’ve been slower than usual in answering emails and phone messages. It’s been a big slog forward, but I think this change will be a good one. Here’s hoping to seeing you all in the new shop!

4 thoughts on “Grand Re-Opening – Tomorrow!

  1. Debora Lustgarten

    Is it better to put my order through the website or will you have the debit machine set up and ready for tomorrow? Can’t pass the opportunity to get some stuff while we celebrate, right?

    Reply
  2. parobertson

    Congratulations! All of your hard work and patience is paying off. It’s such a delight to read your blog updates and hear nothing but optimism – fun – and an unbelievably positive outlook. Thank you!

    Reply

Say hello!